Kujira no Kora wa Sajou ni Utau (Children of the Whales) Anime Confirmed for Fall 2017!

También puedes leer este artículo en: Español

Kujira no Kora wa Sajou ni Utau

Fantasy, Mystery, Sci-fi

Airing Date:
October 2017

J.C. Staff

Promotional Videos / PV

Official Images / Key Visuals


The 93rd year of Sunakan.

The earth is covered in a sea of sand. There are people who reside upon a drifting boat called the Mud Whale whale the size of a small island. The population of this island is 513 and they have never come into contact with the outside world. The society is broken up into two kinds of people. There are the Shirushi, who’s source of emotions, Saimia, allows them to cut their own lives short, and those without the ability who live long, the Muin. They live together though, on this small island in seclusion.

One day, a record-keeper of the island, Chakuro, a Shirushi, is examining an abandoned ship that was drifting when he encounters a mysterious girl named Rikosu. This is the first time that a person from Chakuro’s society has come into contact with someone from the outside world. Now is this contact good news that will open the door to a new world?

Characters & Voice Actors List


Voice Actor:

Chakuro is a young boy living on the Mud Whale who is a Shirushi. He has hypergraphia (intense desire to write), so he is persistent about writing down everything from his day. Due to this unique trait, he has a made a life for himself on the island as a record-keeper of everything. He is a shirushi, but he is bad at controlling his Saimia.


Voice Actor:

Rikosu is the girl that Chakuro discovered while he was examining the abandoned ship. She was a soldier but for some reason she has lost her emotions as well as will. Her nickname was Apatoia, but she becomes a prisoner of war and lives on the Mud Whale.

Other TitleChildren of the Whales
Main Staff
  • Original Creator: Abi Umeda
  • Director: Kyouhei Ishiguro
  • Series Composition: Michiko Yokote
  • Character Design: Haruko Iizuka
  • Music: Hiroaki Tsutsumi

For more information: Official Website

(Credit Honey’s Anime when you use our description.)